Special Announcement! $50,000 Matching Challenge Grant. Click here to learn more.

The Randolph A. Frank Prize for the Performing Arts

Nominations for the 2024 Randolph A. Frank Prize close February 15, 2024.

The mission of the Randolph A. Frank Prize for the Performing Arts is to recognize and reward individual performing artists and dedicated educators who enrich the quality of the performing arts in Palm Beach County, Florida. All established and emerging individuals who regularly perform or engage in performing arts education in Palm Beach County are eligible for consideration for the Prize, which will be awarded annually.

One to three winners will be selected and awarded a total amount of $10,000.

  • Submissions for nominations opens on December 1, 2023.
  • Deadline for submissions is February 15, 2024.
  • Please apply by submitting all required documents to ovazquez@palmbeachsymphony.org.

Prize Categories:

Performing Artist

Performing Arts Educator

Emerging Artist

Eligibility Criteria

  • All applicants must be dedicated to enhancing the cultural and artistic life of Palm Beach County.
  • Although the applicant does not need to reside in Palm Beach County, the applicant’s work must be based primarily in Palm Beach County.
  • It is the applicant’s responsibility to apply for only the prize category that best reflects the applicant’s contribution to the cultural and artistic life of Palm Beach County.
  • Applicants for the Performing Artist Award should have at least a five-year demonstrated track record as a performing artist in Palm Beach County.
  • Applicants for the Performing Arts Educator Award should have at least a five-year demonstrated track record as a performing arts educator in Palm Beach County.
  • Applicants for the Emerging Artist Award should have at least a three-year demonstrated track record either as a performing artist OR performing arts educator in Palm Beach County and be at least 21 years of age.
  • Writers, designers (costume, lighting, props, scenic, sound) and production technicians are not eligible.

Submission Guidelines

  • Anyone from within or outside the Palm Beach County community may submit a nomination.
  • An individual performing artist or performing arts educator may self-nominate for prize consideration.
  • The Letter of Nomination should not be written or submitted by a spouse or family member.
  • Nominators must submit Letter of Nomination and support materials, as indicated below.
  • Submissions that meet all eligibility requirements will be reviewed by a panel of judges that includes esteemed industry professionals from within and outside Palm Beach County.
  • Winner(s) will be notified of decisions by end of February 2024.
  • Winner(s) will be invited to attend an award presentation in mid-late Spring 2024. Specific date and time will be announced in January 2024.
  • Please apply by submitting all required documents to ovazquez@palmbeachsymphony.org.

Nomination Letter Content

  1. Include contact information for the nominee: Full name, permanent address, phone number, email address and website (if applicable).
  2. Specify the particular Frank Prize (Performing Artist, Performing Arts Educator or Emerging Artist) for which the nominee wishes to be considered.
  3. Address the reason for the nomination, such as the nominee’s achievements and goals and, if nominated by another individual, outline the length of time the nominator has known the nominee and in what capacity.
  4. Document the record of the nominee’s performing arts or performing arts education experience in Palm Beach County.
  5. Address how the nominee has enhanced the cultural and artistic life of Palm Beach County.
  6. Outline the nominee’s commitment to excellence in the nominee’s field.
  7. If applicable, summarize the nominee’s teaching experience as it relates to performing arts education and document the particular age group(s) and constituencies the nominee has mentored.

Support Materials

  1. Nominee résumé and professional biography
  2. Additional supporting documents – maximum of six (6) single-sided pages, single-spaced, 12-point font.
  3. No more than three audio and/or visual examples.
  4. Please include your name on each page of every document.

History of the Frank Prize

The Randolph A. Frank Prize was established in 2009 by Nancy and Jay Parker, longtime friends of Dr. Randolph A. Frank, who was an avid patron of the arts.  Shortly after Dr. Frank’s move to Palm Beach from the Washington, D.C. area in the early 2000’s, the Parkers introduced him to their neighbor and friend Steven Caras. At Caras’ invitation, Dr. Frank and the Parkers soon began to attend many of the widely diverse cultural events in Palm Beach County. After Dr. Frank’s passing in 2007, the Parkers, administrators of Frank’s foundation, asked Caras to start thinking in terms of conceiving a cause to be established in Palm Beach County “in Randy’s memory.”  

The Parkers felt that Caras, an acclaimed dancer, dance educator, and photographer, would come up with an ideal plan. “I felt that a cause was very much needed here,” in Caras’ words, “celebrating and rewarding performing arts educators and performers, working in Palm Beach County, who, through their devoted efforts, enhance and inspire the lives of all of us –residents and visitors alike.” Together, they decided to honor Dr. Frank’s memory with this annual award.

Since 2019, Palm Beach Symphony has managed and hosted the Randolph A. Frank Prize for the Performing Arts. Through the generosity of these founders a total of $10,000 is awarded each year.

Presented by Palm Beach Symphony

Board of Directors, Nancy and Jay Parker

Founding Chairman, Steven Caras

Frank Prize Winners Since Inception


Stefanie Katz Shear
Claudio Jaffe
Wesley Lowe


Cleve A. Maloon

Kenneth Kay

Tiffany Cox


Colleen Smith


Abbey (Harr) Ward

Evan Rogovin

Lauren Carey


Steven Caras


Dylan Evans

Demetrius Klein


Shawn Berry

Deborah Marquez


John Weatherspoon

Dawn Jones


Nanique Gheridian

Jan Hanniford


Dan Guin

Karen Stephens


Billy Bell

Beverly Blanchette

Gordon O'Connell


Dwane Earnhardt

Dan Leonard


Clarence Brooks

Beth Dimon

Michael Fraley


J. Barry Lewis

Nicolas Lawrence Santana

Wendell Simmons

2022-23 Featured Season Sponsors

2022-23 Featured Season Sponsors